The following are the six different roles that a member can have on a Card, Each role has all of the permissions of the lower roles below:

Author 🌟 

The original 'star', or creator of a card. This cannot be changed. 

  • Always retain the card even if it is Cut from a parent (i.e. all of an author's cards are automatically 'Kept').

  • Assign all user roles, and promote/demote moderators

  • Cannot be demoted

  • Delete for Everyone

Moderator 🛡 

The reviewer and curator of the Members and child Cards.

Editor 📖 

  • Edit the card content

  • Manage comments (incl. deleting other users) 

  • Shared Tag management

Contributor ✈️ 

  • Publishing new child cards within this parent card

  • Cutting cards they added within this parent card

Reader 👓 

Ghost 👻 

  • Liking

  • Personal tag management

  • Keeping

  • Adding this card to another parent

  • Adding a child card as unlisted (not publishing)

  • Hiding

  • Junk

  • Delete for Me


You will notice that 'Viewing the Share code' is omitted from this list of permissions. This is because it depends on what the default role of a card is. If a member of a card has a role lower than the default role, they are unable to view the Share Code. If an Author/Moderator demotes a member to lower than the default role, the share code is automatically reset - to prevent the demoted user from rejoining at a higher role. 

Did this answer your question?